Posted on August 3, 2022

Temple Beth Ahm has been a leader in egalitarianism. In December 1974, eleven women shared an adult Bat Mitzvah service. Ben Margolis taught the group, and it included Yetta Brody, Miriam Carchman, Anne Isaacson, Eleanor Kuperstein, Barbara Lebovitz, Flora Lichter, Rosalie Millman, Merle Scheinmann, Enid Steir, Marilyn Zapolitz, and Irma Zeller. This helped to inspire other women to learn to lead services, become Torah readers, and increase their leadership roles both in the Sisterhood (later Women’s League) and in the temple at large. Rosalie Millman was the first woman to serve as Temple president, from 1976-1980.